Nourish, Balance, and Transform with Ayurveda

Originally a two part Sanskrit word Namas+te. These two words are combined together with an “s” In the Sanskrit language this process is called săndhi, which is the combination of two sounds or any two things coming together such as a season. It could be roughly translated to “cusp.” Namaste is expressed in the form of a gesture known as Anjali mudra and we have often experienced it in the yoga classes. It is more than 5000 year old practice reflecting deference to the teacher, fellow students and to the cosmic energies. The ancient Sanskrit word Namaste “नमस्ते” is steeped in a deep

and profound history of ancient India. Understanding the meaning behind it helps to give clarity and a deeper appreciation for this common term. It is deeply rooted and still alive in the Indian culture and slowly settling in the west.

 Namaste is a gesture of greeting as well as farewell in India among family members, friends and even strangers. It is also used during prayers and rituals in homes & temples.

The vast library of knowledge of Ayurveda, yoga, meditation, Vedic astrology, sacred architecture known as Vastu was written in Sanskrit in sacred volumes called the Vedas. It is the foundation of these ancient practices that have migrated to the Orient via Buddhism and to the West via Yoga and Ayurveda and continues to share the culture of India and the teachings in the 21st century.

Connect with health consciousness- understanding the three Ayurveda principle energies of the body

Ayurveda identifies three basic types of energy or functional principles that are present in everyone and everything known as DOSHA. The doshas are made of five elements. Ether, air, fire, water and earth. They are the basic blocks of all that’s happening around and within us.

Since there are no single words in English that can convey these concepts, we use the original Sanskrit words for the three doshas as VATA, PITTA and KAPHA and in my opinion, perhaps there’s no need to translate.  These principles can be related to the basic biology of the body. Dosha means “which can get imbalance.” So time and time these energies can go out of balance due to several factors and if left unattended can cause disorders and diseases at all three levels of human existence which is mind, body and spirit.

Ayurveda defines us in three body (constitution) types, based on the five elements (ether, air, fire, water, earth). We are all made up of the five elements, thus we all have all three doshas present in our physical and mental body. However, the proportions of doshas and qualities vary from person to person, making us all unique

Qualities & elements of Doshas

VATA- air & ether or spacePITTA- fire & waterKAPHA- earth &water

According to Ayurveda, our dominant dosha helps to determine the healthiest lifestyle choices for our unique body. Ayurveda suggests that a good nutrition starts from eating fresh, properly prepared foods. Through Dinacharya (daily routines) and Ritucharya (seasonal routines), Ayurveda defines how human beings relate to the natural cycles arising from our planet. By following a routine appropriate to the time of day, night, or season; Ayurveda teaches that human beings can enjoy good health by flowing natural cycles. Our emotional ill-health is caused by lack of coordination between an individual's senses, emotions and thoughts. In Ayurveda the heart and mind are intimately connected, the heart is considered the "seat" of consciousness.

Ayurveda is the soulful practice of self awareness, self reflection and self care. This time honored system is often helpful in the journey towards self-awareness, growth and change, offering a fully holistic look. Doshas are a central element of Ayurveda and the basis of what makes it such a personalized approach to health. By understanding your  dosha and creating a lifestyle accordingly, you’ll enjoy a healthier, more balanced life.

Ayurveda Bodywork FormsAyurveda Consultation Forms
Like us on Facebook
Copyright ©Green Tulip Health & Wellness 2023